June 26, 1776

Sir_Joshua_Reynolds_-_John_Murray,_4th_Earl_of_Dunmore_-_Google_Art_Project

Virginia Governor Dunmore reports to Lord Germain in England that the Gwynn’s Island is his new base, and that if the fever had not killed most of the slaves that flocked to his banner, he would have stayed on the mainland.

In Seneca, South Carolina, Patriot Captain James McCall and a thirty man detachment of South Carolina rangers were snet on a peace mission to the Cherokee Nation.  They were ambushed by the Indians.

In New Jersey, General Sir William Howe and the British fleet arrive off Sandy Hook.

John Adams writes to his wife, attributing the defeat in Canada to smallpox.  “Our Misfortunes in Canada, are enough to melt an Heart of Stone. The Small Pox is ten times more terrible than Britons, Canadians and Indians together. This was the Cause of our precipitate Retreat from Quebec, this the Cause of our Disgraces at the Cedars.—I dont mean that this was all. There has been Want, approaching to Famine, as well as Pestilence. And these Discouragements seem to have so disheartened our Officers, that none of them seem to Act with Prudence and Firmness.  But these Reverses of Fortune dont discourage me. It was natural to expect them, and We ought to be prepared in our Minds for greater Changes, and more melancholly Scenes still. It is an animating Cause, and brave Spirits are not subdued with Difficulties.”

Adams continues to write of his multiplying duties:  “The Congress have been pleased to give me more Business than I am qualified for, and more than I fear, I can go through, with safety to my Health. They have established a Board of War and Ordinance and made me President of it, an Honour to which I never aspired, a Trust to which I feel my self vastly unequal. But I am determined to do as well as I can and make Industry supply, in some degree the Place of Abilities and Experience. The Board sits, every Morning and every Evening.1 This, with Constant Attendance in Congress, will so entirely engross my Time, that I fear, I shall not be able to write you, so often as I have. But I will steal Time to write to you.”

Learn more about the events of 1776 by joining Bow Tie Tours for one of our award winning historical walking tours.  Join us for our July 4th Celebration, a 7-Hour Extravaganza that takes you into the rooms where Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, and where Congress signed it.  See the chair Washington sat in during the Constitutional Convention, and the dais from which performed the first peaceful transfer of power from one president to another.  See where Benjamin Franklin flew his kite, where Alexander Hamilton first met Mariah Reynolds.  The bank that was the result of a titanic struggle between competing ideological forces that brought about our two party system.  The tent where George Washington slept.  This will be a July 4th you will never forget, and you will be joined by Dr. Benjamin Rush, a Signer of the Declaration of Independence who can tell you these things from personal experience.  Tickets are limited, so contact us now for this rare opportunity.

Leave a Reply

