January 4, 1776

images-1

General Washington promises Congress that he will attack Boston at his first opportunity.  However, he also requests…a little slack.  “The resolution relative to the Troops in Boston, I beg the favour of you Sir, to assure Congress, shall be attempted to be put in execution, the first moment I see a probability of success, and in such a way, as a Council of Officers shall think most likely to produce it; but if this should not happen as soon as you may expect, or my wishes prompt to, I request that Congress will be pleased to Advert to my situation, and do me the justice to believe, that circumstances, & not want of inclination, are the cause of delay.”

Bow Tie Tours

 

Leave a Reply

